BitchTapes: True North

It’s an election year, which means, if you’re like me, you’ve been idly googling real estate prices around the world for months. The closest border to me these days is the Canadian one (#TexasForever in my heart though), and it just so happens that this coming Monday is Canadian Thanksgiving. So what better time to thank Canada for its excellent contributions to music, it’s teen dramas, and its PM-scented candles than to make a mix of Candian artists. Time to bulk up my CouchSurfing profile…

BitchTapes: True North from BitchTapes on 8tracks Radio.


1. Change the Sheets - Kathleen Edwards

2. Power in the Blood - Buffy Sainte-Marie

3. Urge for Going - Joni Mitchell

4. Hand in my Pocket - Alanis Morissette

5. Cloud 69 - Lowell

6. Centre - Tanya Tagaq

7. Travellin’ on for Jesus - Kate & Anna McGarrigle

8. Voodoo - pHoenix Pagliacci

9. Blank Maps - Cold Specks

10. Our Hell - Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton

11. Closer - Tegan and Sara

12. In the Night - Basia Bulat

13. I Mean Something - Peaches ft Feist (DOUBLE THE CANADA!)

14. Constant Craving - k.d. Lang

15. The Littlest Birds - The Be Good Tanyas


by Katie Presley
View profile »

Katie Presley is a writer and editor currently based on the East Coast (help, how did this happen??). She's been with Bitch in one form or another since 2010, when she started as a New Media Intern, and most recently served as Bitch's first and only Music Editor, from 2016-2017. Past resume lines include Assistant Producer for All Songs Considered at NPR Music, panelist on Pop Culture Happy Hour, and bylines at NPR and Ms. Katie is also a doula and herbalist, and writes a blog on herbal medicine, "The Herbal Apprentice." She also co-founded the first full-spectrum doula organization in Texas, The Bridge Collective. She is also a late-comer to being a Dog Person, but currently lives with four cats. 

Get Bitch Media's top 9 reads of the week delivered to your inbox every Saturday morning! Sign up for the Weekly Reader:

0 Comments Have Been Posted

Add new comment