BitchTapes: Black Resistance

Happy Black History Month! While the commemoration of Black history shouldn’t be relegated to 28 days in mid-winter, it’s still important to honor those who’ve shaped the course of history. From the time the first Africans were transported to the Americas in 1619, resistance has been synonymous with Blackness. This BitchTape celebrates that integral facet of being Black. We will continue to resist, and we will win.

Track List:

1. James Brown - “Say It Loud - I’m Black and I’m Proud”

2. Sam Cooke - “A Change is Gonna Come”

3. Common featuring John Legend - “Glory”

4. Nina Simone - “Mississippi Goddam”

5. Marvin Gaye - “What’s Going On?”

6. Blood Orange  - “Sandra’s Smile”

7. Public Enemy - “Fight the Power”

8. Nina Simone - “Revolution”

9. Mahalia Jackson - “We Shall Overcome”

10. Sweet Honey In the Rock - “Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me ‘Round”

11. Gil-Scott Heron - “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”

12. Bebe Winans - “Lift Every Voice and Sing”

13. Curtis Mayfield & the Impressions - “People Get Ready”

14. Solange Knowles featuring Lil Wayne - “Mad”

15. Rapsody - “The Man”

16. Tupac - “Changes”

17. Common featuring CeeLo Green - “A Song For Assata”

18. Queen Latifah - “U.N.I.T.Y.”

19. Billie Holliday - “Strange Fruit”

20. Nina Simone - “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”

by Evette Dionne
View profile »

Evette Dionne is Bitch Media’s editor-in-chief. She’s all about Beyoncé, Black women, and dope TV shows and books. You can follow her on Twitter.

Get Bitch Media's top 9 reads of the week delivered to your inbox every Saturday morning! Sign up for the Weekly Reader: