BitchTapes20 Years of Lauryn Hill

Lauryn Hill on the cover of the 1999 free preview of Honey Magazine (Photo credit: Honey Magazine)

On August 25, 1998, Lauryn Hill shook up the music industry when she released her first and only solo album. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill instantly shot to the top of the Billboard 200 chart, broke the record for the best first-week sales by a woman artist, and eventually won five Grammys, including Album of the Year. While Hill has had her fair share of struggles over the past 20 years, her musical legacy can never be overlooked or erased. This BitchTape celebrates Hill—and not just for Miseducation. It also includes songs she wrote and produced for other artists and songs that sample her work.

Track List:

1. Lauryn Hill - “Everything is Everything”

2. Aretha Franklin - “A Rose is Still a Rose”

3. Lauryn Hill - “Doo Wop (That Thing)”

4. Cardi B - “Be Careful”

5. Lauryn Hill - “Ex-Factor”

6. Drake - “Nice for What”

7. The Fugees - “Killing Me Softly with His Song”

8. Lauryn Hill - “Tell Him”

9. Kanye West featuring Syleena Johnson - “All Falls Down”

10.  Lauryn Hill featuring D’Angelo - “Nothing Even Matters”

Get Bitch Media's top 9 reads of the week delivered to your inbox every Saturday morning! Sign up for the Weekly Reader:

11. Mary J. Blige - “All That I Can Say”

12. Lauryn Hill - “Lost Ones”

13. John Legend featuring Lauryn Hill - “So High (Cloud 9 Remix)”

14. The Fugees - “No Woman, No Cry”

15. Lauryn Hill - “I Used to Love Him”

Donate today to help ensure Bitch remains a sanctuary for feminist readers in 2020 and for generations of feminist thinkers to come.

Donate Today.

by Evette Dionne
View profile »

Evette Dionne is Bitch Media’s editor-in-chief. She’s all about Beyoncé, Black women, and dope TV shows and books. You can follow her on Twitter.